Friday, March 15, 2013

Available May 1st, 2013

Located on a quiet one way street, this two bedroom garden apartment in Chicago's Wicker Park (near Wood and Division) is a comfortable oasis in the middle of the city. It's on the ground floor of an owner occupied two flat and has a large side yard. I've lived on the top two floors for over twenty years and enjoy being a small time landlord. I'm looking for someone who wants to pay $1500/month to live here.

[Click on any of the photos to make them bigger.]

The apartment is 1000 square feet, with a large kitchen and adjacent dining area. There's a newish gas oven/range and dishwasher. The countertops are concrete and sealed with a clear finish. The floors in the kitchen/dining/bathroom are large 16"x16" tile. The bedrooms and open front room have new (1 yr old) low pile berber type carpet.

Adjacent to the kitchen is an eat-in dining room. The floor plan is open, allowing for plenty of different furniture arrangements.

Directly behind the dining area is a laundry closet with washer/dryer and additional storage.

Then there's the bathroom, red shower curtain not included.

The east bedroom, here used as an office, measures 10'x14'. The west bedroom, seen on the right, is 10'x12'. The blue wall has since been repainted off white to match the rest of the apartment.

The largest room, measuring 20'x14' is the front room. There's a nice flow between this room, the eat-in kitchen, and the kitchen itself.

Here's a view from the front room looking back at the eat-in kitchen.

There's a small patio just outside the entrance to the apartment. It overlooks a small herb garden that's part of the over-sized landscaped lot that the building sits on.

If you're a gardener, or interested in growing food in the city, you might want to take a look at what my friends and I are up to on our rooftops.  We also raise chickens and bees.  Neither of them intrude on your space but you are welcome to help us take care of them. Or just watch them from a distance.

Finally, some practical matters. My preference is for a year lease, though I'm flexible. As tenant, you're responsible for gas and electric bills for the apartment. There's an efficient gas forced air furnace and central air conditioner that heat and cool the space. Cats are welcome. Unfortunately dogs aren't. It's a non-smoking building, so if you're a smoker you'll have to do it outside. There's a high speed/DSL internet connection that feeds the whole building. It runs a little slow--about 575 kbps--but it's free. (At least to you.)

I've had great tenants in the past and I'm looking for one or two more right now. Send me (Bruce) an email greenroofgrowers at gmail dot com or give me a call at 773-342-0166 if you'd like to take a look at the space.